Ask the Expert

Firewall standards

What are the standards for firewalls? What are the competing products of firewalls?

    Requires Free Membership to View

The best known of any standards for firewalls is the certification program run by ICSA Labs. On their Web site you can find the Firewall Certification Criteria.

Another standard used is the International Common Criteria for Information Technology Security Evaluation. This criteria is used for all security products, not just firewalls. It is a culmination of many years of effort to harmonize the evaluation criteria of the U.S. with that of the UK, Canada, Germany and many other countries.

As for competing products, I'm assuming you are looking for a list of firewall vendors. At the risk of leaving out some firewall vendors, a list is below (in no particular order):
BorderWare Technologies
Check Point Software Technologies, Inc.
Cisco Systems, Inc.
Signal 9 Solutions
CyberGuard Corporation
Lucent Technologies
SLM (Milkyway) Networks Corporation
The Knowledge Group
3Com Corporation
Linux Security
Network-1 Security Solutions
Computer Associates International
Network Associates
Allied Telesyn International
NetScreen Technologies
CoBalt Networks, Inc.
Secure Computing
SonicWALL, Inc.

This was first published in October 2001

There are Comments. Add yours.

TIP: Want to include a code block in your comment? Use <pre> or <code> tags around the desired text. Ex: <code>insert code</code>

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
Sort by: OldestNewest

Forgot Password?

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an email containing your password.

Your password has been sent to: