(ISC)² ThinkTanks

(ISC)² ThinkTanks

(ISC)2 ThinkTank: Protecting Patients Sensitive Data - Dealing With The Final HIPAA Omnibus Rule

Sponsored by:

Oracle Logo

December 12, 2013, 10:00am PDT / 1:00pm EDT / 6:00pm GMT

1 CPE - Register Now

On September 23, 2013, the HITECH Omnibus Final Rule went into effect. The final ruling has far reaching authority and penalties for noncompliance; unfortunately, most are unclear what the requirements mean for their organization and how to protect their sensitive customer data. Join (ISC)2 and Oracle on December 12, 2013 for a roundtable discussion covering the following:
• The important legal requirements surrounding breach notifications
• Business Associates’ responsibility and “willful negligence”
• What healthcare organizations are doing to secure the 66% of sensitive and regulated data that resides in their databases.

 

(ISC)2 ThinkTank: Crime Seen Investigation

Sponsored by:

Guidance Software Logo

December 17, 2013, 10:00am PDT / 1:00pm EDT / 6:00pm GMT

1 CPE - Register Now

While breaches happen more often than infosecurity practitioners would like, no two breaches are the same. Some breaches are simply nuisance incidences where nothing of value is accessed and remediation is put in place. Others reveal themselves as a full blown criminal act and require a full investigation, forensic examination and the involvement of law enforcement. However, many breaches fall in a “gray area” in which the decision to investigate fully becomes a difficult call.