COBIT is a framework for developing, implementing, monitoring and improving information technology (IT) governance and management practices. The COBIT framework is published by the IT Governance Institute and the Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA).

The goal of the COBIT framework is to provide a common language for business executives to communicate with each other about goals, objectives and results. The original version, which was published in 1996, focused largely on auditing. The fifth version, which published in 2012, emphasizes the value that information governance can provide to a business' success. It also offers quite a bit of advice about enterprise risk management.

COBIT 5 provides enterprise-level businesses with frameworks, process descriptions, control objectives, management guidelines and maturity models to help administrators build, monitor and improve its implementation. The name COBIT originally stood for "Control Objectives for Information and Related Technology," but the spelled-out version of the name was dropped in favor of the acronym in the fifth iteration of the framework.

COBIT 5 is based on five key principles for governance and management of enterprise IT:

Principle 1: Meeting Stakeholder Needs
Principle 2: Covering the Enterprise End-to-End
Principle 3: Applying a Single, Integrated Framework
Principle 4: Enabling a Holistic Approach
Principle 5: Separating Governance from Management

To be certified in COBIT 5, a candidate must complete an approved COBIT 5 assessor training program, pass two COBIT examinations and have five or more years of relevant work experience.


This was last updated in January 2019

Continue Reading About COBIT

Dig Deeper on COBIT

Start the conversation

Send me notifications when other members comment.

Please create a username to comment.


File Extensions and File Formats